Bookmark and Share

Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra

Registration date: 2006-08-30
Country: Sweden Sweden
City: Stockholm
Address: Stockholms Konserthus, Hötorget 8 / Box 7083
Telephone: 08-786 02 00
Fax: 08-786 02 00
Contact person: Lotta Bjelkeborn
Contact language(s): swedish, english
Contact e-mail:

For decades the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra (RSPO) has strived actively to renew and broaden the classical repertoire. This is shown for example in the annual and week-long Composer's Festival where an internationally renowned living composer is presented in depth.

Among the featured composers in this firmly established festival we find Schnittke, Börtz, Pärt, Penderecki, Lutoslawski, Hillborg, Lindberg, Saariaho, Gubaidulina, Salonen, John Adams, Henze and Tan Dun. In 2006 yet another festival was founded: a spring festival called Composer’s Weekend features each year a Swedish up-and-coming composer. In addition, the orchestra regularly plays contemporary music and commissions new works.

The RSPO entered the 21st century under the American conductor Alan Gilbert as both its Chief Conductor and Artistic Adviser. Gilbert's appointment lasted until spring 2008, after which Sakari Oramo took over the position. During Gilbert's leadership the RSPO reinforced its position as a touring orchestra on the international arena with guest apperances in London, Tokyo and New York.

The RSPO participates annually in the Nobel Prize Ceremony, as well as in the Nobel Prize Concert, an annually recurring concert of highest international standard in partnership with Nobel Media. The Polar Music Prize Awards take place in the Stockholm Concert Hall as well with the orchestra as a major participant.

The 105 members of the RSPO are working in a musical tradition dating back to 1902 when the original ensemble was formed. Since 1926 the orchestra has had its home in the Stockholm Concert Hall, designed by the architect Ivar Tengbom with a grand vision to erect a classical Greek temple close to the Polar Circle to the honour of music.
Developed by Horbor ©2006-2011