Bookmark and Share

Monte-Carlo Philharmonic Orchestra

Registration date: 2006-06-05
Country: Monaco Monaco
City: Monte-Carlo
Address: Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo, Auditorium Rainier III, Boulevard Louis II - BP 197
Telephone: +377 93 10 85 00
Fax: +377 93 15 08 71
Contact language(s): french, english
Contact e-mail:

The Monte-Carlo Orchestra was founded in 1856. Known until 1953 as the National Orchestra of the Opera of Monte-Carlo, and Philharmonic Orchestra since 1980, it has been led by guest conductors such as Toscanini, Mitropoulos, Walter, Richard Strauss, Victor de Sabata, Sir Thomas Beecham, Kondrachin, Kubelik, Stokowski, Charles Munch, Sir John Barbirolli and Eugene Jochum. More recently, Leonard Bernstein, Eric Kleiber, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Zubin Mehta, Sir Georg Solti and Lorin Maazel have been regular guests. In January 1999 Marek Janowski was named Artistic Director of the Monte-Carlo Philharmonic Orchestra and Music Director/Chief Conductor as of July 2000. Past Music Directors have included Louis Fremaux, Paul Paray, Edouard van Remoortel, Igor Markevitch, Lovro von Matacic, Lawrence Foster, and James DePreist.

In addition to the regular concert season the Philharmonic Orchestra also accompanies the Opera and the Ballets de Monte-Carlo. Its rich history includes the premieres of ballets of Serge Diaghilev and operas of Ravel, Massenet and others. The Philharmonic Orchestra has always played a significant role in the creation of contemporary dance, opera and symphonic music.
Developed by Horbor ©2006-2011